Kaki King New Album Out Next Week; National Tour Begins Next Week

kaki_img02_hires
kakikingcover

Rounder Records is thrilled to announce that Kaki King has confirmed a headlining US tour in celebration of the April 13th release of her new record, Junior. The tour kicks off in Brooklyn, NY, at the Music Hall of Williamsburg on April 15th. The dates take Kaki and her band across the country, coming to a close at The Glasshouse in Pomona, CA, in late May.

Junior, it is the highly acclaimed singer/songwriter and guitarist extraordinaire’s fifth record, and first for Rounder. The record delivers twists-and-turns: lyrically from exuberance and anger to heartbreaking melancholy; and sonically from experimental pieces to accessible pop. While there is plenty of the dazzling musicianship King has been renowned for, Junior showcases her further maturation as a well-rounded artist who defies categorization and expectations.

Spin has already weighed in, exclaiming in their eight-out-of-10 star review, “The instrumental virtuoso claims a backing band on her fifth album, and the new rhythm section adds aggression to tangles of guitar and post-domestic disgust…could be just the thing for still-mourning Sleater-Kinney fans or anyone who likes their licks righteous and their indignation more so.”

As with her previous album, 2008’s Dreaming of Revenge, Junior was produced by Malcolm Burn (Patti Smith, Emmylou Harris). In contrast to that record, which was marked by deep textures and layers as well as unusual instrumentation, Junior was specifically made with only three musicians in mind-in this case, King, multi-instrumentalist Dan Brantigan and drummer Jordan Perlson. Brantigan and Perlson will be on tour with King for all of these dates.

The past 10 years have been quite eventful for King, who was named a “Guitar God” by Rolling Stone. She was nominated for a Golden Globe for her score for the 2007 Sean Penn-directed film Into the Wild. She continues to work in film today, and is currently writing scores for various projects. Also in 2007, King performed with Dave Grohl on a song called “Ballad of The Beaconsfield Miners” on the Best Rock Album Grammy-winning Foo Fighters record, Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace. During a sold-out Foo’s show at London’s O2 Arena, Grohl invited King on stage to perform the song and introduced by saying: “There are some guitar players that are good. There are some guitar players that are really f’n good. And then there is Kaki King.” In 2008, King recorded with The Mountain Goats for the Black Pear Tree EP. The guitarist has also recently collaborated with uber-producer Timbaland to produce a song featuring Miley Cyrus.

Pre-order Junior here.

The dates for the tour are below:

4/15/2010 Thu New York, NY Williamsburg Music Hall

4/16/2010 Fri New York, NY Bowery Ballroom

4/17/2010 Sat Boston, MA Middle East

4/19/2010 Mon Northampton, MA Iron Horse

4/20/2010 Tue Portland, ME PCMH

4/21/2010 Wed Burlington, VT Higher Ground

4/28/2010 Wed Philadelphia, PA Theater of the Living Arts

4/29/2010 Thu Washington, DC The 9:30 Club

4/30/2010 Fri Carrboro, NC Cat’s Cradle

5/1/2010 Sat Atlanta, GA The Variety

5/2/2010 Sun Nashville, TN 3rd & Lindsley

5/4/2010 Tue Cleveland, OH Beachland

5/5/2010 Wed Ann Arbor, MI The Ark

5/6/2010 Thu Chicago, IL Park West

5/7/2010 Fri Madison, WI High Noon

5/8/2010 Sat Minneapolis, MN The Varsity

5/9/2010 Sun Omaha, NE The Waiting Room

5/11/2010 Tue Boulder, CO The Fox

5/12/2010 Wed Denver, Cervante’s Masterpiece Ballroom

5/14/2010 Fri Seattle, WA Neumos

5/15/2010 Sat Portland, OR Wonder Ballroom

5/16/2010 Sun Eugene, OR W.O.W. Hall

5/19/2010 Wed Reno, NV Knitting Factory

5/20/2010 Thu Petaluma, CA Mystic Theater

5/21/2010 Fri San Francisco, CA The Fillmore

5/22/2010 Sat Los Angeles, CA El Rey Theater

5/24/2010 Mon San Diego, CA Belly Up

5/25/2010 Tue Ponoma, CA Glasshouse

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

Facebook comments:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*