Jason Mraz has announced details of “Life Is Good,” a live digital EP available October 5 recorded earlier this month on Mraz’s current North American tour.

“Life Is Good” will feature live versions of four new songs, as well as a live version of “Coyotes” from Mraz’s last studio album, WE SING. WE DANCE. WE STEAL THINGS. (see attached tracklisting). Mraz and his band recorded the EP on the first three dates of his current tour–in Bangor, Maine; Utica, NY; and at the Life Is Good Festival in Canton, MA. Mraz’s tour, which is still winding its way across the continent, wraps up in Santa Barbara, CA on October 8 (see dates below).

“Life Is Good” will be available at all online retailers beginning October 5. Mraz will premiere the songs on his website, www.jasonmraz.com, starting with “Freedom Song” today. More songs will be posted over the next week, along with candid videos shot by tour videographer Jeff Coffman on the road that capture Mraz explaining the origins and meanings of the new songs.

Mraz first heard “Freedom Song,” after songwriter Luc Reynaud donated the song to a compilation album benefiting the homeless in his hometown of Seattle. Mraz, who was touched by the lyrics to the song, shared the song with a group of freed child slaves in Ghana this summer when he visited the country with the organization Free The Slaves. This tour marks the first time Mraz has performed “Freedom Song” with his band. Additionally, the collection’s other new songs, “San Disco Reggaefornia,” “Up,” and “What Mama Say,” all results of Mraz’s recent songwriting sessions, also made their live debut on this run of dates.

Following the conclusion of his tour dates, Mraz will return to the studio with WE SING. WE DANCE. WE STEAL THINGS. producer Martin Terefe to complete his next full-length album, due out in 2011.

For more news and information, go to www.jasonmraz.com, www.facebook.com/jasonmraz, and www.myspace.com/jasonmraz.



Available at all digital retailers October 5, 2010

1. “Freedom Song” – recorded live in Utica, NY on Sept. 13

2. “San Disco Reggaefornia” – recorded live in Canton, MA on Sept. 12

3. “Up” – recorded live in Canton, MA on Sept. 12

4. “What Mama Say” – recorded live in Utica, NY on Sept. 13

5. “Coyotes” – recorded live in Bangor, ME on Sept. 11


North American Tour 2010 remaining dates

10/4-10/6 – Robert Francis supports

9/28-9/30 – Luc & The Lovingtons support

10/8 – Christina Perri supports

28 Newark, DE Bob Carpenter Center

29 Columbus, OH The LC Outdoor Pavilion

30 Interlochen, MI Kresge Auditorium


2 Milwaukee, WI Farm Aid – Miller Park

4 London, ONT John Labatt Center

5 Ottawa, ONT Scotiabank Place

6 Quebec City, QUE Colisee Pepsi Arena

8 Santa Barbara, CA Santa Barbara County Bowl

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

Facebook comments:

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Jason Mraz anuncia el lanzamiento de un EP en directo | Blog musica: indie, rock y folk alternativo | Binaural

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.