The Joy Formidable to Release New Album ‘The Big Roar’ March 15 through Canvasback/Atlantic Records

Barely over a year after playing their first ever American shows, Welsh rock trio The Joy Formidable will release their debut album, The Big Roar, March 15th on Canvasback/Atlantic.

After self-releasing their eight-track A Balloon Called Moaning EP at home last February, The Joy Formidable spent 2009 touring the U.K., Europe and Australia with bands including Editors, Temper Trap and Passion Pit, mastering tiny clubs and festival stages alike. Along the way, they earned critical raves from NME, The Guardian, the London Times, Spin and Pitchfork, and praise from Garbage’s Shirley Manson and Courtney Love, among others.

In late April, The Joy Formidable teamed with a new label started by Passion Pit’s Ayad Al Adhamy, Black Bell Records, to release A Balloon Called Moaning in the U.S. The New York Times’ Jon Pareles praised the EP’s “cryptic lyrics that glint with urgency,” and said that “the music regenerates the turbulent haze of 1990s rock, but it’s less tormented and more anthemic, confident of the pop structures at its core.” Praising the band’s energetic live show in a recent review, The Village Voice noted “[The Joy Formidable] is a band that knows how to wring just the right amount of intensity from minimal ingredients.”

When they weren’t on the road, the band worked on writing and tracking the material for The Big Roar. “We recorded in a tiny corner of our London bedroom,” says guitarist and lead singer Ritzy Bryan. “It was great, because you could capture that moment when you wake up in the middle of the night with a melody or an image or a lyric.” Working on and off for a year, the trio — Bryan, bassist Rhydian Dafydd and drummer Matthew Thomas — crafted a remarkable collection of modern rock songs that explore what Bryan describes as “the possibility of victory in a hopeless situation.” Adds Dafydd: “The album covers a lot of emotional range. It’s captured the battle between the eternal optimist and the manic depressive.”

The band produced The Big Roar themselves, with help from engineer Neak Menter. They traveled to Los Angeles in summer of 2010 to mix it with Rich Costey (Muse, Foo Fighters, Glasvegas) who also produced new recordings of fan favorites “Whirring and Austere. The album’s first single, “I Don’t Want To See You Like This,” is out now. The Village Voice called the song “one of the band’s best offerings yet, a breakup song that looks forward to the other side of heartache, with racing guitars and thundering drums that seem engineered to snap both parts of the still-attached couple out of their sad state.” These songs are joined on the The Big Roar nine other beautiful, explosive new recordings. Check out the track listing and brilliantly detailed album artwork, created by Dafydd, below:

The Big Roar Track Listing

1. The Everchanging Spectrum Of A Lie

2. The Magnifying Glass

3. I Don’t Want To See You Like This

4. Austere

5. A Heavy Abacus

6. Whirring

7. Buoy

8. Maruyama

9. Cradle

10. Llaw = Wall

11. Chapter 2

12. The Greatest Light Is The Greatest Shade

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

Facebook comments:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.