Third Man Records Announce White Stripes Vault Package | The Audio Perv
13 Apr

Third Man Records is excited to announce an upcoming Vault package documenting three decidedly different eras of the White Stripes.

First is Live in Mississippi, a recording of the White Stripes’ final live concert from July 31st, 2007 in Southaven, Mississippi. Presented in crystalline audio quality and spread across 2 LP’s pressed on 180-gram vinyl, this recording is (arguably) the band at the top of their game. With the local geography looming large on their minds, the set list is decidedly heavy on the blues and features covers of songs by Robert Johnson, Son House and Leadbelly. The rest of the set includes songs from all six of the White Stripes’ studio albums and the show is offered in its entirety.

This quarter’s 7-inch features some of the White Stripes’ very first recordings. The a-side is a haunting, stark version of “Signed DC,” a cover of the band Love’s original from its self-titled 1966 debut. The flipside is a breathtaking rendition of the Otis Redding classic “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long.” Recorded in Detroit in September of 1997 a mere two months after the Stripes’ live debut, this single provides a heretofore unheard era of the band. Although their debut single “Let’s Shake Hands” wouldn’t be released for another eight months, this recording shows how fully-formed the general idea, aesthetic and approach of the White Stripes was from the very start.

The final component of this collection is a DVD entitled Under Moorhead Lights All Fargo Night. Recorded at Ralph’s Corner Bar in Moorhead, Minnesota on June 13th, 2000, this previously unseen footage captures the band immediately following the release of their sophomore album De Stijl on what was their first extended bout of touring across the United States. Performing for only a handful of people, the show is heavy on the band’s earlier material with a spirited cover of Iggy Pop’s “I’m Bored” being of particular excitement and note.

The package is available exclusively to Vault members. New members must register at by the end of April in order to qualify for it.

The complete track listings for the Live In Mississippi double album and Under Moorhead Lights All Fargo Night DVD are below.

Live in Mississippi
Stop Breaking Down (Robert Johnson)
Let’s Build a Home
When I Hear My Name
Icky Thump
Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground/As Ugly As I Seem
The Same Boy You’ve Always Known
Wasting My Time
Phonograph Blues (Robert Johnson)
Cannon/John the Revelator (Traditional)
Death Letter (Son House)
Apple Blossom
You Don’t Know What Love Is (You Do As You’re Told)
In the Cold, Cold Night
I Want to Be the Boy to Warm Your Mother’s Heart
Hotel Yorba
A Martyr For My Love For You
Ball and Biscuit
300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues
Blue Orchid
I’m Slowly Turning Into You
Boll Weevil

Under Moorhead Lights All Fargo Night
Let’s Shake Hands
Wasting My Time
Jolene (Dolly Parton)
Little Bird
Apple Blossom
You’re Pretty Good Looking (for a Girl)
Your Southern Can is Mine (Blind Willie McTell)
Suger Never Tasted So Good
Truth Doesn’t Make a Noise
I’m Bored (Iggy Pop)
Cannon/John the Revelator (Traditional)

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks

Facebook comments:

No response yet

Leave a response

Fatal error: Call to undefined function TA_content_jump() in /home/sweiland/public_html/wp-content/themes/warmblue/single.php on line 111