Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: open(/tmp/sess_833e2e5b186825eb571914a23ff15b36, O_RDWR) failed: Disk quota exceeded (122) in /home/sweiland/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-automatic-upgrade/wordpress-automatic-upgrade.php on line 121

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sweiland/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-automatic-upgrade/wordpress-automatic-upgrade.php:121) in /home/sweiland/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-automatic-upgrade/wordpress-automatic-upgrade.php on line 121

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/sweiland/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-automatic-upgrade/wordpress-automatic-upgrade.php:121) in /home/sweiland/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-automatic-upgrade/wordpress-automatic-upgrade.php on line 121
Portugal. The Man Announce New Album In The Mountain In The Cloud Due Out July 19th | The Audio Perv
29 Apr

Atlantic recording group Portugal. The Man has announced the upcoming release of their hugely anticipated label debut. “IN THE MOUNTAIN IN THE CLOUD” arrives in stores and at all DSPs on July 19th.

Produced by John Hill (Santigold, M.I.A.) with co-production from PTM lead singer/guitarist/songwriter John Gourley and longtime band producer Casey Bates, and mixed by Grammy Award winner Andy Wallace (Nirvana, Jeff Buckley), “IN THE MOUNTAIN IN THE CLOUD” marks the first recording to fully harness the Portland, Oregon-based band’s exhilarating live show (see attached tracklisting). From the dynamic opener “So American” to the sprawling vision of “Sleep Forever,” the album – Portugal. The Man’s sixth overall – captures a truly distinctive band evolving in real time, revealing their singular sonic vision in its purest and most powerful form thus far.

“IN THE MOUNTAIN IN THE CLOUD” is preceded by the first single, “Got It All (This Can’t Be Living Now),” which can be heard now at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JyZZIQC3v4. What’s more, the final in a series of album previews can be heard at www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CQbPc61RKI. All four album previews are available at Portugal. The Man’s YouTube channel, www.youtube.com/portugalthemanband.

Portugal. The Man will herald “IN THE MOUNTAIN IN THE CLOUD” with a wide-ranging North American tour, kicking off tonight, April 29th, at The Roseland Theater in the band’s own Portland, Oregon (see attached itinerary). The trek will then make stops across the continent, culminating at the Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival in Manchester, Tennessee on June 11th. Advance tickets for most tour dates range from $12-$20. Accompanying PTM on the tour will be Telekinesis and Unknown Mortal Orchestra – for full details and ticket availability visit www.portugaltheman.com.

As if all that weren’t enough, Portugal. The Man will also bring their extraordinary live power to this year’s Lollapalooza. The venerable music festival is slated for August 5-7th at Chicago’s Grant Park.

Since their formation in 2005, Portugal. The Man has captured the attention of the American indie scene with their extraordinary amalgamation of electronic beats, complex melodies, and atmospheric post-rock soundscapes. Formed in Wasilla, Alaska by lead singer/guitarist/songwriter John Gourley before migrating south to the Pacific Northwest, the band proved as prolific as they were eclectic, releasing an album each year since their 2006 debut, “WAITER: ‘YOU VULTURES!’”

Each consecutive collection revealed the ongoing evolution of Portugal. The Man, from the cathartic hard rock of 2007’s “CHURCH MOUTH” and the theatrical pop psychedelia of 2008’s “CENSORED COLORS” to the sci-fi chamber-pop found on 2009’s “THE SATANIC SATANIST” and 2010’s “AMERICAN GHETTO.”

Portugal. The Man is John Gourley: vocals, guitar; Zachary Scott Carothers: bass, vocals; Jason Sechrist: drums; Ryan Neighbors: keys, vocals.

www.portugaltheman.com / www.facebook.com/portugaltheman / twitter.com/portugaltheman / http://youtube.com/portugalthemanband

(Atlantic Records)
Release Date: July 19th

1. So American
2. Floating (Time Isn’t Working My Side)
3. Got It All (This Can’t Be Living Now)
4. Senseless
5. Head Is a Flame (Cool With It)
6. You Carried Us (Share With Me The Sun)
7. Everything You See (Kids Count Hallelujahs)
8. All Your Light (Times Like These)
9. Once Was One
10. Share With Me The Sun
11. Sleep Forever


4/29-30 w/Telekinesis * 5/5-6/4 w/Telekinesis and Unknown Mortal Orchestra
6/7-9 w/Unknown Mortal Orchestra

29 Portland, OR Roseland Theater
30 Seattle, WA The Showbox At The Market

5 Sacramento, CA Harlow’s Night Club
6 San Francisco, CA The Fillmore
7 Anaheim, CA House of Blues
8 Scottsdale, AZ Martini Ranch
11 Colorado Springs, CO The Black Sheep
12 Fort Collins, CO Aggie Theatre
13, 14 Denver, CO Bluebird Theater
17 Kansas City, MO Record Bar
19 Little Rock, AR Revolution Music Room
20 Dallas, TX Granada Theater
21 Houston, TX Fitzgerald’s Upstairs
22 Gulf Shores, AL Hangout Music Festival
25 Columbus, OH Outland Live
26 Cleveland, OH House of Blues
27 Toronto, ON Lee’s Palace
28 Syracuse, NY Westcott Theatre
29 Danbury, CT Festival Fields @ Western CT State University
30 Burlington, VT Higher Ground

1 Portland, ME Port City Music Hall
2 Providence, RI The Met
3 New York, NY Webster Hall
4 Hunter Mountain, NY Mountain Jam Music Festival
7 Pittsburgh, PA Mr. Small’s Theatre
8 Baltimore, MD Ram’s Head Live
9 Asheville, NC Orange Peel
11 Manchester, TN Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival

5-7 Chicago, IL Lollapalooza

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks
  • bookmarks

Facebook comments:

    1 Response to this post

  1. [...] the way, The Audio Perv has a ton of details on In The Mountain, In The Cloud. [...]

Leave a response

Fatal error: Call to undefined function TA_content_jump() in /home/sweiland/public_html/wp-content/themes/warmblue/single.php on line 111

Warning: Unknown: open(/tmp/sess_833e2e5b186825eb571914a23ff15b36, O_RDWR) failed: Disk quota exceeded (122) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/tmp) in Unknown on line 0