Regina Spektor Unveils “All The Rowboats” Video

The much-anticipated new studio album from Regina Spektor, What We Saw From The Cheap Seats (iTunes pre-order), is set for release on Sire/Warner Bros. Records on May 29. The album reunites Spektor with production partner Mike Elizondo (Eminem, Fiona Apple, Dr. Dre) and is her first album of new material since 2009’s far. What We Saw From The Cheap Seats was launched with the first listen track “All The Rowboats” and followed with the single “Don’t Leave Me (Ne Me Quitte Pas)”. The album digital deluxe pre-order is available and the video for “All The Rowboats” will receive a worldwide premiere on YouTube and The Warner Sound on March 29. Spektor will also release an exclusive 7” of two Russian cover songs, “The Prayer Of François Villon (Molitva)” and “Old Jacket (Stariy Pidjak),” for Record Store Day on April 21. Spektor will tour with Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers this spring performing new material from the album; See dates below.

What We Saw From The Cheap Seats was recorded over an eight-week period this past summer in Los Angeles. Spektor wrote each of the 11 tracks on the album. She arrived at the session with a collection of new compositions, but others were pulled from earlier periods. She and Elizondo fleshed out instrumentation and sought to make each of the songs stand alone sonically. Most of the songs were recorded live with Spektor on piano and vocals, while additional instrumentation was added to these original takes. Of working with Spektor, Elizondo says “Regina Spektor is that rare artist that continues to surprise. Just when you think you have her figured out, she knocks you out with something completely different. It’s that spirit that drives this record. Each song takes you on a journey that only Regina is capable of providing. She has truly outdone herself.”

Spektor studied classical piano and garnered a loyal live following in New York before self- releasing two albums. Her breakthrough album Soviet Kitsch was released by Sire Records in 2004 followed by Begin to Hope in 2006. The album included worldwide fan favorites “Fidelity,” “Samson,” “On The Radio” and “Better” and is certified gold in the U.S. Spektor followed up with far (2009) and Live from London (2010), which was recorded at the Hammersmith Apollo Theater during the far tour.

1. Small Town Moon
2. Oh Marcello
3. Don’t Leave Me (Ne Me Quitte Pas)
4. Firewood
5. Patron Saint
6. How
7. All The Rowboats
8. Ballad of a Politician
9. Open
10. The Party
11. Jessica
All dates with Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers
April 18/19 1 Bank Center Broomfield, CO
April 21 Verizon Arena Little Rock, AR

April 24 Tingley Coliseum Albuquerque, NM

April 26 Intrust Bank Arena Wichita, KS

April 29 Verizon Wireless Amphitheater at Encore Park Alpharetta, GA

May 1 Germain Arena Estero, FL

May 3 Amway Center Orlando, FL

May 5 Frank Erwin Center Austin, TX

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

Facebook comments:

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Tracklist: Jennifer Lopez finally back to making beautiful music, again |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.