Diplo | The Audio Perv
Posts Tagged ‘Diplo’
11 Feb

Diplo was featured in an interview last night on Last Call with Carson Daly. He spoke about working with M.I.A., the difference between DJing and producing for him, and how he got his start in music. Check it out in the video below:

01 Sep

Das Racist will drop their second mixtape this year, Sit Down, Man, on Tuesday, September 14. But first, Pitchfork will exclusively premiere their video for “Who’s That? Brooown!” on Thursday, September 2, for the track culled from their prior mixtape, Shut Up, Dude.

Inspired and designed in the style of an 8-bit Nintendo game, the adventure for “Who’s That? Brooown!” is not merely a video but actually parallels a corresponding interactive game version where viewers can enter the Das Racist world and play as Hima or Victor. Directed by Thomas De Napoli for Enter The Fancy productions, the plot chronicles the duo battling myriad of hostile antagonists to find their third member, Dap, in order to headline a show.

A second video premiere will follow on Tuesday, September 7, when MTV Iggy exclusively unveils the Weird Days-directed clip for “Ek Shaneesh,” another track from Shut Up, Dude.

True to Das Racist’s modus operandi, the videos, much like their lyrics, embody an ingenious mix of social commentary, clever humor and intelligent style. The forthcoming mixtape will be presented by Diplo, Mad Decent, Greedhead Entertainment as well as returning partner Mishka, and will feature production by Diplo, Boi-1da, Scoop Deville and Dame Grease. As promised, there’s no shortage of collaborators including El-P, Despot, Roc Marciano, Keepaway, Teen Girl Fantasy, Chairlift and Vijay Iyer. The following outlets will make the mixtape available for download on release day: maddecent.com, greedhead.net, mishkanyc.com and djbooth.net.

The Brooklyn hip-hop crew will put the party into Santos Party House when they take over the NYC venue on Thursday, September 16 to celebrate the new release, and will be joined with performances by Maluca, Keepaway and Tecla.

24 Feb

Oasis have been announced as headliners for the Main Stage at the Melt! Festival in Ferropolis, Germany on July 17-19. The rest of the lineup is below:

Aphex Twin + Hecker
A Critical Mass (feat. Henrik Schwarz, Âme, Dixon Live)
Matias Aguayo
Kasper Bjørke
Bloc Party
Bodi Bill
Jochen Distelmeyer
DJ Phono
The Dodos
Ellen Allien
The Faint
Filthy Dukes
Sascha Funke
Jazzanova Live!
Paul Kalkbrenner
Markus Kavka
Mediengruppe Telekommander
Hudson Mohawke
The New Wine
Simian Mobile Disco
Luke Slater
Super 700
Tobias Thomas
The Whitest Boy Alive
James Yuill
Zander VT