John Lennon | The Audio Perv
Posts Tagged ‘John Lennon’
14 Dec

Mavis Staples, Jeff Tweedy and Sean Lennon covered John Lennon’s “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)” with the Harlem Gospel Choir on the Colbert Report.

Watch the video below:

23 Nov

To commemorate John Lennon’s 70th birthday on 9 October, 2010, EMI released the Gimme Some Truth Box Set. Featured in the sweeping initiative are eight remastered John Lennon solo albums and new titles including Double Fantasy Stripped Down, Power To The People: The Hits, Gimme Some Truth, and the John Lennon Signature Box.

For the first time, Lennon’s classic solo albums and other standout recordings have been digitally remastered from his original mixes. Double Fantasy, 1980’s GRAMMY Award winner for Album of the Year, will be presented with a newly remixed ‘Stripped Down’ version produced by Yoko Ono and Jack Douglas, Lennon’s original co-producers for the album. Some Time In New York City has been restored to include the six ‘Live Jam’ recordings featured on the original album.

The deluxe 11CD and digital John Lennon Signature Box includes 13 previously unreleased home recordings, and Yoko Ono, Sean Lennon, and Julian Lennon have each written personal essays for the lavish collection.

The cover art for the new titles includes original drawings by Sean Lennon for Double Fantasy Stripped Down, while the cover of 1974’s Walls and Bridges is restored to its original artwork.

We want to offer TWO lucky readers POWER TO THE PEOPLE: THE HITS (CD) and the Double Fantasy Stripped Down albums! If you wanna win, email us at (with the subject: SEND ME SOME LENNON!) with your name, and we’ll email you back asking for your mailing address if you win! This giveaway is open to the US only!)

Head over to to pick up the Gimme Some Truth Box Set Now!

1. Power To The People
2. Gimme Some Truth
3. Woman
4. Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)
5. Whatever Gets You Thru The Night
6. Cold Turkey
7. Jealous Guy
8. #9 Dream
9. (Just Like) Starting Over
10. Mind Games
11. Watching The Wheels
12. Stand By Me
13. Imagine
14. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
15. Give Peace A Chance

Double Fantasy Stripped Down (2010) / Double Fantasy (1980)
Stripped Down
Original Album, Remastered
1. (Just Like) Starting Over
2. Kiss Kiss Kiss
3. Cleanup Time
4. Give Me Something
5. I’m Losing You
6. I’m Moving On
7. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
8. Watching The Wheels
9. Yes, I’m Your Angel
10. Woman
11. Beautiful Boys
12. Dear Yoko
13. Every Man Has A Woman Who Loves Him
14. Hard Times Are Over

02 Nov

Will Ferrell and Spider-Man Manny Pacquiao covered John Lennon’s “Imagine” on Jimmy Kimmel Live. This is Ferrell’s second recent musical performance on a late night show. He was last on Letterman singing some Celine Dion. We can’t wait for the inevitable Will Ferrell duet with his doppelganger Red Hot Chili Peppers’s Chad Smith. Did we just make a Spider-Man and doppelganger joke in the same post? Oh snap. Anyways, check out the video of “Imagine” below

08 Apr

devorsd johnlennonrsd charlottersd

John Lennon, DEVO, The Thermals, The Cribs, Queens of The Stone Age, and Charolotte Gainsbourg are included among the wealth of exclusive pieces that will be available on Record Store Day at select participating independent record stores. In support of indie record stores and the annual occasion, many labels have created special cds, records, box sets, and more for some of their most celebrated artists that will only be available on April 17, 2010 until they sell out. There are hundreds of these special collectibles, all of which can be found at .

Exclusive pieces will be available from the following artists:

DEVO – Fresh, What We Do 12” single featuring new tracks (2500 available); Duty Now For The Future cd reissue (3000 available) and 12” vinyl reissue (2500 available)

Charlotte Gainsbourg – “Heaven Can Wait”/”IRM” 7” single with unique Beck remixes originally broadcast on KCRW (2,500 available)

Queens of The Stone Age – Feel Good Hit of the Summer 10” vinyl picture disc EP previously unreleased in the US and first issue on vinyl

The Thermals & The Cribs – Split 7” vinyl single

John Lennon – Singles Bag Box set with 3 7” singles [“Mother”/“Why,” “Imagine”/“It’s So Hard,” “Watching The Wheels”/“Yes, I’m Your Angel”], 3 postcards, 24×36 poster, and custom 45 adaptor hub (5,000 available)

These are only a sample of the amazing items that will be in stores on Record Store Day. More will be announced in the next two weeks leading up to Record Store Day and you can also head to to see them all now.

08 Dec

Twenty nine years ago today, John Lennon was killed outside of his New York apartment. On October 2nd, 2001, a tribute concert was held at Radio City Music Hall. Come Together: A Night for John Lennon’s Words and Music was hosted by Kevin Spacey and featured performances from Dave Matthews, Cyndi Lauper, Stone Temple Pilots and more. Here’s Stone Temple Pilots rendition of the Beatles’ classic “Revolution.” If you like the performance, you can pick up the DVD on Amazon. RIP John.

(photo credit: Lennon Photo Archive)